August 29, 2008

On-And-Off Luck

Posted in Step In My Shoes at 2:56 am by alyssajb

Well, today we had an All-State chorus meeting at 8:15 in the morning. I had no ride to school because I take the bus, so my mom called a family friend and she was happy to take me. As I step out of her car, I notice Kenneth, not usually this early, step out of his dad’s van. In my head I was thinking, what is he doing here? I kept walking towards the chorus room, and when I get there, I’m about ready to open the door when I look up, and I’m staring into Kenneth’s eyes. “Why are you here?” I asked him. “I just came to watch.” He said. “Seriously?” “Seriously.” He held the door open for me. He was hoping to hear me sing, but instead he had to sit through about half an hour of boring sight-reading. When the bell rang, he was happy to get out.

I was signed out later that day, and I had to go to a doctor’s appointment. After that, we went to Home Depot to find furniture for our new sunroom. When we left, (without furniture) my mom started the car, and it didn’t start. Usually that happens, and it starts again right after. But this time, it totally died! I was thinking, No. Way. I was so surprised, I was staring wide-eyed at my mom’s twitching dashboard. The gear shift was locked, and there was no electricity so no rolling down the windows, no radio (of course) no nothing! So we had to sit outside in the agonizing ninety degree heat, frying. I think I got a tan from that. We had to wait for my dad to come with a cable that allows energy transfer from one car to another, and we finally got out of that place. My mom had enough power to drive her car to the Sears Auto Center, then it died again. Wow, what a surprise? We had to wait another hour for the car to get fixed. Then when we came home at 8:43, I had to rush through my homework. Pretty hectic, huh?

Leave a Reply

